National Merit Recognition Continues

Scheck Hillel Seniors Advance in 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program

The prestigious 2018 National Merit® Scholarship Program has recognized four Scheck Hillel Community School seniors. Nathalie Fuhrman has been named a National Merit Semifinalist, part of a nationwide pool that represents less than 1% of U.S. high school seniors. Keith Bonwitt, Roy Glazer and Max Peicher have been named National Merit Commended Students, placing among the top scorers of more than 1.6 million students who entered the competition by taking the 2016 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®). 
"Congratulations to Nathalie, Keith, Roy, Max and their families," said Dr. Ezra Levy, Scheck Hillel's Head of School. "Recognition from the National Merit Scholarship Program is a tremendous honor, and we are very proud of them. These students reinforce that the Jewish future we are building is bright, guided by young people who shine in and beyond the classroom.” 
All four seniors were recently recognized by the College Board as 2017 AP Scholars with Distinction.
Nathalie is a Jaime and Raquel Gilinski Hillel Ambassador, a member of National Honor Society and Co-President of the Books Across Borders Club; she plays the alto saxophone in Scheck Hillel’s band. She is a lifeguard and water safety instructor and involved in the MAR-JCC Bamachol Dance Program, as both a dancer and a teacher. Nathalie’s community service with Chai Lifeline rounds out her impressive work.
Keith is a Jaime and Raquel Gilinski Hillel Ambassador, a member of National Honor Society, President of the school’s Technology Club and Captain of the cross-country team. Roy was the Class of 2018’s Grade 10 President; he is a Vice-President of the school’s Technology Club and a madrich of school Shabbatonim. Max is the Senior Class President and a Technology Club Vice-President; he plays on the school’s varsity soccer team. From school programs to involvement with J-Serve and Maccabi Tzair, these students also make a difference through a range of community service.
Scheck Hillel is honored to have graduated a significant roster of National Merit Scholars, Finalists, Semifinalists and Commended Students, and to carry the tradition into 2018. Most recently, Jordana Zackon, Class of 2017 valedictorian, was named a 2017 National Merit Commended Student; she is now a freshman at Washington University in St. Louis. Scheck Hillel's 2016 salutatorian, Ariel Gelrud, was a 2016 National Merit Scholar and attends the University of Pennsylvania.

About Scheck Hillel Community School
Scheck Hillel Community School educates and inspires students 18 months-Grade 12 to become exemplary global citizens with enduring Jewish identity and values through an individualized college preparatory curriculum highlighted by STEM and design, Capstone, college dual enrollment, arts, athletics and community service. Its 14-acres include a 115,000-sq.-ft athletic complex with additional expansion plans. Set within a nurturing, diverse community, Scheck Hillel is one of the world's largest Jewish community day schools and a National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence. For information, please visit eHillel.org.
About the National Merit Scholarship Program
NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 420 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence. The academically talented high school seniors chosen as semifinalists have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring. About 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title.