This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

AP Scholars Set New Scheck Hillel Record!

Setting a new academic record, 64 2020 AP Scholar Awards were granted to Scheck Hillel Community School students in recognition of their exceptional achievement on Advanced Placement (AP) exams, continuing a Scheck Hillel tradition.

The College Board’s AP Program provides academically prepared students with the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while still in high school, and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both upon successful performance on the AP exams. The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on students’ performance on AP exams.
“Congratulations to this year’s award recipients and their families,” said Vanessa Donaher, Scheck Hillel’s Head of School. “This record number of AP Scholars amid a global pandemic shows that our students are resilient and dedicated.Opportunities like these empower our students to excel and shine.”

Anna Freiman ’21 qualified for the National AP Scholar Award by earning an average score of at least 4 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams. 
Eighteen Scheck Hillel students qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. These students are Natalie Abramowitz ‘21, Yael Algranatti ‘21, Tanya Almog ‘21, Leonardo Bentata ‘21, Alli Dronsick ‘21, Nicole Feldman ‘21, Anna Freiman ‘21, Mauricio Fuhrman ‘21, Jake Gelb ‘21, Myles Gilbert ‘20 (Northwestern University, Gap Year: Young Judaea Year Course), Noah Givner ‘21, Leah Grobman ’20 (University of Florida), Gabrielle Kurzer ‘20 (Northwestern University), Jenna Lieberman ‘21, Yael Sefchovich ‘20 (Northeastern University), Ilana Stiberman ‘21, Andrea Strulovic ‘21 and Alex Wagenberg ‘20 (University of Florida).

Fourteen students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. These students are Jaime Bursztyn ‘20 (Northwestern University), Aliya DelCastillo ‘21, Danna Fischbach ‘21, Jolie Fiske ‘20 (University of Texas-Austin), Eduardo Halfen ‘22, Rebeca Kamhazi ‘21, Zachary Lemmer ‘22, Sophia Petreanu ‘21, Elliot Sternberg ‘21, Alejandro Wakszol ‘21, Stephanie Weisinger ‘20 (Gap Year: IDC Herzliya), Basi Woldenberg ‘22, Mauricio Woldenberg ‘20 (Cornell University), and Denise Yudovich ‘21.

The final 31 students qualified for AP Scholar Awards by completing three or more AP exams with scores of 3 or higher. These students are: Daniela Abbo ‘20 (University of Miami), Susan Alalu ‘21, Olga Benacerraf ‘20 (Boston University), Noa Bentata ‘21, Abraham Benzadon ‘21, Gabriella Bonwitt ‘21, Jack Camhi ‘21, Hanna Cohen ‘20 (Savannah College of Art and Design), Cecile Darwiche ‘21, Ashley Fincheltub ‘20 (University of Miami), Eli Gelb ‘20 (Columbia University, Gap Year: Yeshivat Orayta), Alexandra Gelman ‘20 (University of Miami), Frida Herdan ‘20 (University of Pennsylvania), Samuel Levy ‘20 (University of Central Florida), Rotem Miara ‘20 (University of Central Florida), Itel Nagli ‘20 (Florida State University), Sofia Nessim ‘21, Gabriela Nicolaievsky ‘22, Mykhaylo Rafalskyy ‘21, Maya Rodrig ‘20 (University of Florida), Orly Shapiro ‘21, Gila Shechter ‘22, Elliot Shiro ’20 (Northeastern University), Gabriella Shiro ‘22, Shira Sredni ‘20 (Yeshiva University, Gap Year: Midreshet Tehila Seminary), Hannah Stern ‘22, Sophie Toledano ‘21, Gabriela Tryzmel ‘20 (University of Florida), Tatiana Wainer ‘21, Danit Weitzman ‘20 (The New School Parsons) and Kaylee Wolf ‘20 (University of Maryland, Gap Year: Israel Experience at Bar Ilan).

Scheck Hillel offers 19 AP courses and more than 50% of Scheck Hillel's High School students maximize this opportunity to earn college credit or Advanced Placement and stand out in the college admission process. Each exam is developed by a committee of college and university faculty and AP teachers, ensuring they are aligned with the same high standards expected by college faculty at some of the nation’s leading universities.

Earlier this year, Scheck Hillel was recognized with the AP Computer Science Female Diversity Award, granted to high schools with 50% or more female representation in AP computer science courses and exams. Congratulations to the following students, including Class of 2020 alumni and current students in Grades 11 and 12.